Voter Helpline App
हिंदी में देखें   |   Skip to main content   |   Screen Reader Access   |   A-   |   A+   |   Theme
Jump to content

Biennial Elections to the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – reg.


About This File

No. ECI/PN/90/2021
Dated: 31st October, 2021



Sub:- Biennial Elections to the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Council by the members of  Legislative Assembly (MLAs) –  reg. 

The term of office of following sitting members of the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Council elected by the members of respective Legislative Assembly had expired on 31.05.2021 and 03.06.2021 respectively. The details are given as under: - 


Name of Member

Date of Retirement 



Chinna Govinda Reddy Devasani




Mohammed Ahmed Shariff


Somu Veerraju



Akula Lalitha






Mohammed Fareeduddin


Gutha Sukender Reddy


Vidyasagar Nethi


Venkateshwarlu Bodakunti


Shrihari Kadiyam

2. The Commission vide Press Note No. ECI/PN/65/2021 dated 13.05.2021 had decided that due to outbreak of the second wave of COVID-19 in the country, it would not be appropriate to hold biennial election to the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Councils till the pandemic situation significantly improves and conditions become conducive to hold above mentioned biennial elections.

3.  The Commission having re-assessed the situation in the State of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana after taking into consideration all relevant facts, has now decided to conduct above-mentioned biennial elections to the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Councils by members of respective Legislative Assembly in accordance with the following programme: - 

S. No




Issue of Notifications

09th November, 2021 (Tuesday)


Last date of making nominations

16th November, 2021 (Tuesday)


Scrutiny of nominations

17th November, 2021 (Wednesday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures

22nd November, 2021 (Monday)


Date of Poll

29th November, 2021 (Monday)


Hours of Poll

09:00 am to 04:00 pm


Counting of Votes

29th November, 2021 (Monday) at 05:00 pm


Date before which election shall be completed

01st December, 2021 (Wednesday)

4. Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 as already issued by ECI as well as the recent guidelines issued by ECI as contained in para 06 of Press Note dated 28.09.2021 available at link to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process for all persons. 

5. The Chief Secretaries of States concerned are being directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the election.

What's New in Version Monday 22 November 2021 09:06


Hindi version added


ECI Main Website

ECI Main websiteThe Election Commission of India is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering election processes in India. The body administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies in India, and the offices of the President and Vice President in the country. The Election Commission operates under the authority of Constitution per Article 324, and subsequently enacted Representation of the People Act. 

Voter Helpline App

Voter HelplineDownload our Mobile App 'Voter Helpline' from Play Store and App Store. The  App 'Voter Helpline' provides you easy searching of your name in Electoral Roll, filling up online forms, knowing about Elections, and most importantly, lodging grievance. You will have access to everything about Election Commission of India. You can view the latest Press release, Current News, Events, Gallery and much more. You can also track your form application and status of your grievance. Click here to download. Don't forget to give your feedback from the link provided within the Application.

  • Create New...