Voter Helpline App
हिंदी में देखें   |   Skip to main content   |   Screen Reader Access   |   A-   |   A+   |   Theme
Jump to content

Biennial Election to the Bihar Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – reg.

About This File

No. ECI/PN/40/2020 
Dated: 15thJune, 2020


Biennial Election to the Bihar Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) –  reg.

 The term of 09 members of the Bihar Legislative Council elected by the members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) has expired on 06.05.2020. Details are given as under:


Name of the Member

Date of Retirement


Ashok Choudhary







Krishan Kumar Singh


Prashant Kumar Shahi


Sanjay Prakash


Satish Kumar


Radha Mohan Sharma


Sonelal Mehta


Md. Haroon Rashid


Hira Prasad Vind


2.      Considering the prevailing unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19 and the guidelines & orders passed under the Disaster Management Act, 2005 by the competent authority, the Election Commission, on 03.04.2020 passed an Order under Article 324 of Constitution of India read with section 16 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951,and directed that the process of election to the abovementioned seats shall be initiated at a later date after reviewing the prevailing situation.

 3.       The Commission, after receiving inputs from CEO, Bihar,has now decided that above mentioned biennial election to the Bihar Legislative Council by members of Legislative Assembly be held in accordance with the following programme:


S. No.




Issue of Notification

18th June, 2020 (Thursday)


Last Date of making nominations

25th June, 2020 (Thursday)


Scrutiny of nominations

26th June, 2020 (Friday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures

29th June, 2020 (Monday)


Date of Poll

06th July, 2020 (Monday)


Hours of Poll

09:00 am to 04:00 pm


Counting of Votes

06th July, 2020 (Monday)at 05:00 pm


Date before which election shall be completed

08th July, 2020 (Wednesday)


4.       Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election.

5.       Commission has also directed the Chief Secretary of the State to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.

ECI Main Website

ECI Main websiteThe Election Commission of India is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering election processes in India. The body administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies in India, and the offices of the President and Vice President in the country. The Election Commission operates under the authority of Constitution per Article 324, and subsequently enacted Representation of the People Act. 

Voter Helpline App

Voter HelplineDownload our Mobile App 'Voter Helpline' from Play Store and App Store. The  App 'Voter Helpline' provides you easy searching of your name in Electoral Roll, filling up online forms, knowing about Elections, and most importantly, lodging grievance. You will have access to everything about Election Commission of India. You can view the latest Press release, Current News, Events, Gallery and much more. You can also track your form application and status of your grievance. Click here to download. Don't forget to give your feedback from the link provided within the Application.

  • Create New...