Voter Helpline App (for Android)
हिंदी में देखें   |   Skip to main content   |   Screen Reader Access   |   A-   |   A+   |   Theme
Jump to content

Biennial Election to the Karnataka Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – reg.

About This File

No. ECI/PN/39/2020
Dated: 9thJune, 2020


 Biennial Election to the Karnataka Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) –  reg.

 The term of 07 members of Karnataka Legislative Council elected by the members of respective Legislative Assembly (MLAs) is expiring on 30.06.2020. Details are given as under: -


Name of the Member

Date of Retirement


Naseer Ahmed








M.C. Venugopal


N.S. Bose Raju


H.M. Revanna


T.A. Sharavana


D.U. Mallikarjuna


2.      The Commission, after receiving inputs from CEO, Karnataka has decided that above mentioned biennial elections to the Karnataka Legislative Council by members of Legislative Assembly be held in accordance with the following programme:

S. No.




Issue of Notification

11th June, 2020 (Thursday)


Last Date of making nominations


18th June, 2020 (Thursday)


Scrutiny of nominations

19th June, 2020 (Friday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures


22nd June, 2020 (Monday)


Date of Poll

29th June, 2020 (Monday)


Hours of Poll

09:00 am to 04:00 pm


Counting of Votes

29th June, 2020 (Monday) at 05:00 pm


Date before which election shall be completed


30th June, 2020 (Tuesday)


 3.       Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election.

4.     Commission has also directed the Chief Secretary of the State to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.

ECI Main Website

ECI Main websiteThe Election Commission of India is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering election processes in India. The body administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies in India, and the offices of the President and Vice President in the country. The Election Commission operates under the authority of Constitution per Article 324, and subsequently enacted Representation of the People Act. 

Voter Helpline App

Voter HelplineDownload our Mobile App 'Voter Helpline' from Play Store and App Store. The  App 'Voter Helpline' provides you easy searching of your name in Electoral Roll, filling up online forms, knowing about Elections, and most importantly, lodging grievance. You will have access to everything about Election Commission of India. You can view the latest Press release, Current News, Events, Gallery and much more. You can also track your form application and status of your grievance. Click here to download. Don't forget to give your feedback from the link provided within the Application.

  • Create New...