Voter Helpline App (for Android)
हिंदी में देखें   |   Skip to main content   |   Screen Reader Access   |   A-   |   A+   |   Theme
Jump to content
  • Search In
    • More options...
    Find results that contain...
    Find results in...
    How to Search

Bye Elections to the Council of States from Bihar, Odisha and Gujarat-reg.


About This File

No. ECI/PN/65/2019
Dated: 15th June, 2019


Subject:      Bye Elections to the Council of States from Bihar, Odisha and Gujarat-reg.

There are six casual vacancies in the Council of States from Bihar, Gujarat and Odisha occurred due to reasons as mentioned below:



 Name of Member

Cause of vacancy

Term  of office up to



Ravi Shankar Prasad

Elected to 17th Lok Sabha on 23.05.2019




Shah Amitbhai Anilchandra

Elected to 17th Lok Sabha on 23.05.2019



Smriti Zubin Irani

Elected to 17th Lok Sabha on 24.05.2019




Achyutananda Samanta

Elected to 17th Lok Sabha on 24.05.2019



Pratap Keshari Deb

Elected to Odisha Legislative Assembly. Seat became vacant on 09.06.2019



Soumya Ranjan Patnaik

Resignation on 06.06.2019





Dates and Days


Issue of Notifications

18th June, 2019 (Tuesday)


Last Date of making nominations

25th June, 2019 (Tuesday)


Scrutiny of nominations

26th June, 2019 (Wednesday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures

28th June, 2019 (Friday)


Date of Poll

05th July, 2019 (Friday)


Hours of Poll

9:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.


Counting of Votes

05th July, 2019 (Friday) at 5.00 p.m.


Date before which election shall be completed

09th July, 2019 (Tuesday)

The Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to the Council of States from the above mentioned States to fill up the above said vacancies in accordance with the following schedule for each of the vacancies - 

It is further clarified that the vacancies for Bye-elections to all Houses, including the Rajya Sabha, are considered as separate vacancies and separate notifications are issued and separate poll is taken for each of the vacancies although the programme schedule for the bye-elections may be common. This is in conformity with the provisions of Section 147 to 151 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and has been the consistent practice of the Commission in such cases. Holding of separate elections has been upheld by the Hon’ble Delhi High Court in Civil W.P. No. 132 of 1994 (A.K. Walia Vs Union of India & Others) and W.P. No. 9357 of 2006 (Satya Pal Malik Vs Election Commission of India) by its decision dated 14.01.1994 & 20.01.2009 respectively.

What's New in Version


Hindi version added

ECI Main Website

ECI Main websiteThe Election Commission of India is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering election processes in India. The body administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies in India, and the offices of the President and Vice President in the country. The Election Commission operates under the authority of Constitution per Article 324, and subsequently enacted Representation of the People Act. 

Voter Helpline App

Voter HelplineDownload our NEW Mobile App 'Voter Helpline' from Play Store. The Android App 'Voter Helpline' provides you easy searching of your name in Electoral Roll, filling up online forms, knowing about Elections, and most importantly, lodging grievance. You will have access to everything about Election Commission of India. You can view the latest Press release, Current News, Events, Gallery and much more. You can also track your form application and status of your grievance. Click here to download. Don't forget to give your feedback from the link provided within the Application.

  • Create New...